EXHIBITION
Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili
- Hollow Body

Opening: Saturday, November 14, 7 pm
November 15 – December 20, 2015

Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili, who was born in Tbilisi in 1979 and now lives in Berlin, investigates the possibilities of photography with extreme meticulousness. There is a central interest in the diverse methods of collage, which the artist employs in a virtuoso manner. Thus, she experiments with images and materials that are found or her own, and she combines these into new constellations. In the process, she not infrequently manipulates her source material by deliberately scratching it, cutting it or leaving other manual traces behind on it. The results are captured using analogue or digital methods of reproduction; however, the images that are created usually represent only an intermediate stage. Until the final print, highly diverse methods are employed to further rework them, so that the process corresponds more to a deliberate composition than the spontaneous capturing of a moment.

The images developed by the artist within the framework of this process range from portraits, still lifes and architectural photos all the way to abstract works, and they refer just as much to the visual idiom and aesthetics of advertising as to the recent history of photography and art. Independently of the given subject matter, many of the works are characterised by an enigmatic quality that significantly contributes to the effect which they exercise. They are brought to life by the ruptures that are both inherent to the photographs as a result of the multistage process of their production and also hold their viewers at a distance.

Specifically for her presentation at the Kölnischer Kunstverein – the artist’s first institutional solo exhibition – Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili has developed a new group of works that encompasses both photographs and installations. In the second storey, an assortment of photographs is presented opposite a translucent curtain hanging in the well of the staircase and printed with various motifs. Taken as a whole, the various artworks provide a comprehensive impression of the complexity of Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili’s work – an artist whose pieces have drawn international attention in the recent past, for example, at the New Museum of New York.

This exhibition is supported by the Stiftung Kunst, Kultur und Soziales of the Sparda-Bank West.

AUSSTELLUNG
Ketuta
Alexi-Meskhishvili
- Hollow Body

 

Eröffnung: Samstag, 14. November, 19 Uhr
15. November – 20. Dezember 2015

Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili, die 1979 in Tiflis geboren wurde und mittlerweile in Berlin lebt, erforscht mit großer Akribie die Möglichkeiten der Fotografie. Ein zentrales Interesse kommt den vielfältigen Methoden der Collage zu, die die Künstlerin mit Virtuosität zum Einsatz bringt. So experimentiert sie mit vorgefundenen und eigenen Bildern oder Materialien und fügt diese in neuen Konstellationen zusammen. Dabei nimmt sie nicht selten Eingriffe an den Vorlagen vor, indem sie diese bewusst zerkratzt, beschneidet oder mit anderen handgemachten Spuren versieht. Die Resultate werden mit analogen oder digitalen Reproduktionsmethoden festgehalten, wobei die entstandenen Bilder meist nur ein Zwischenstadium repräsentieren. Bis zum finalen Abzug werden sie unter dem Einsatz verschiedenster Methoden weiter bearbeitet, sodass das Verfahren eher einem bewussten Komponieren, als dem spontanen Festhalten eines Moments entspricht.

Die Bilder, die die Künstlerin im Rahmen dieses Prozesses entstehen lässt, reichen von Porträts, Stillleben und Architekturaufnahmen bis hin zu Abstraktionen und verweisen auf die jüngere Fotografie- und Kunstgeschichte genauso wie auf die Bildsprache und Ästhetik der Werbung. Unabhängig vom jeweiligen Sujet sind viele der Arbeiten von einer Rätselhaftigkeit geprägt, die nicht unwesentlich zu der Wirkung der Werke beiträgt. Sie wird beflügelt von den Brüchen, die den Fotografien im Zuge des mehrstufigen Produktionsverlaufs innewohnen und die den Rezipienten auf Distanz halten.

Für die Präsentation von Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili im Kölnischen Kunstverein, bei der es sich um ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung handelt, wurde eigens eine neue Werkgruppe konzipiert, die sowohl fotografische als auch installative Arbeiten umfasst. Im zweiten Obergeschoss des Hauses wird eine Zusammenstellung von Fotografien präsentiert, der ein transluzenter, mit unterschiedlichen Motiven bedruckter Vorhang im Auge des Treppenhauses gegenübersteht. Zusammengenommen geben die verschiedenen Arbeiten einen umfassenden Eindruck von der Vielschichtigkeit des Schaffens von Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili, die in der jüngeren Vergangenheit mit ihren Arbeiten international, wie etwa im New Museum in New York, für Aufsehen sorgte.

Gefördert durch die Stiftung Kunst, Kultur und Soziales der Sparda-Bank West.