EXHIBITION
Stephen G. Rhodes
- Or the Unpreparedness Prometheus and Pals

 

Opening: Saturday, November 14, 7 pm
November 15 – December 20, 2015

The installations of the artist Stephen G. Rhodes, who was born in Houston in 1977, are characterised by the use of diverse media and materials and are generally of an expansive nature. The works usually take historical events, social phenomena and art historical or film historical positions as their points of departure: the artist subjects these to analysis, compares them with alternative value systems and translates them into his own linguistic system. For his exhibition at the Kölnischer Kunstverein – his first institutional solo exhibition in Germany – Rhodes has created a new film for the cinema as well as a complex, walk-in installation for the exhibition hall.

The show is centred around two places whose divergent developments Rhodes has linked together within the context of his exhibition and used as the basis of a narrative. The first of these is the Bayou Corne Sinkhole, located in a swampland in the south-east of the US state of Louisiana, and the second is Malta’s Sweethaven Village. The sinkhole developed in 2012, when the fracking procedure that an American company was employing in the area led to underground cave-ins, and the above-ground terrain was pulled down into the depths. In the period that followed, hundreds of local residents were evacuated from the nearby community in order to protect them from the menace of additional cave-ins.

By contrast, Malta’s Sweethaven Village has a less burdened background and functions, in a certain sense, as a counterpart to the American disaster site. The village was created in 1979/80 as the backdrop for the director Robert Altman’s film Popeye. Because of the expense involved, it was not torn down after shooting was completed, and this eventually resulted in the residents of the island transforming it into an amusement park.

The world of the imagination – as it has manifested itself in the Sweethaven Village – is thus confronted with the reality of industry, which borders on the realm of the unimaginable in the case of the Bayou Corne Sinkhole. At the same time, Rhodes links the stories of the two places with the immediately topical aspect of fleeing – or, alternatively, leaving – as well as the mythological figure of Prometheus and the main characters of Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein.

Stephen G. Rhodes lives and works in Berlin and New Orleans. He has had solo exhibitions at the Migros Museum in Zurich (2013) and at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles (2010). He has additionally participated in group exhibitions, including those at the Kunst-Werke in Berlin (2015), the CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art in San Francisco (2011) and at the New Museum in New York (2009).

AUSSTELLUNG
Stephen G. Rhodes
- Or the Unpreparedness Prometheus and Pals

 

Eröffnung: Samstag, 14. November, 19 Uhr
15. November – 20. Dezember 2015

Die Installationen des 1977 in Houston geborenen Künstlers Stephen G. Rhodes sind durch die Nutzung vielfältiger Medien und Materialien gekennzeichnet und weisen zumeist raumgreifenden Charakter auf. Ausgangspunkte der Werke sind in der Regel geschichtliche Ereignisse, gesellschaftliche Phänomene und kunst- oder filmhistorische Positionen, die er einer Untersuchung unterzieht, mit alternativen Wertesystemen konfrontiert und in sein eigenes Sprachsystem überträgt. Für die Ausstellung im Kölnischen Kunstverein, bei der es sich um die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland handelt, produziert Rhodes einen neuen Film für das Kino sowie eine komplexe, begehbare Installation für die Ausstellungshalle.

Im Zentrum stehen dabei zwei Orte, deren unterschiedliche Entwicklungen Rhodes im Rahmen seiner Ausstellung miteinander verknüpft und als Basis einer Narration nutzt. Dabei handelt es sich zum einen um das Bayou Corne Sinkhole in einem Sumpfgebiet im Südosten des amerikanischen Bundesstaates Louisiana und zum anderen um das Sweethaven Village auf Malta. Die Erdsenkung entstand 2012, als es in dem Gebiet in Folge des Einsatzes des Fracking-Verfahrens durch ein amerikanisches Industrieunternehmen zu unterirdischen Einstürzen kam und das überirdische Erdreich in die Tiefe gerissen wurde. Hunderte von Anwohnern wurden in der folgenden Zeit aus dem nahegelegenen Ort evakuiert, um sie vor der drohenden Gefahr von weiteren Einstürzen zu schützen.
Das Sweethaven Village auf Malta hat demgegenüber einen weniger belasteten Hintergrund und fungiert in gewisser Weise als Gegenpart zu der amerikanischen Unglücksstätte. Das Dorf entstand 1979/80 als Kulisse für den Popeye-Film des Regisseurs Robert Altman und ist nach dem Abschluss der Dreharbeiten aus Kostengründen nicht zurückgebaut worden, sodass es schliesslich von den Inselbewohnern in einen Vergnügungspark umgewandelt wurde.
Die Welt der Imagination, wie sie sich in dem Sweethaven Village manifestiert, trifft somit auf eine Realität der Industrie, die im Fall des Bayou Corne Sinkholes den Bereich des Unvorstellbaren berührt. Dabei verknüpft Rhodes die Geschichten der beiden Orte sowohl mit dem tagesaktuellen Aspekt der Flucht bzw. des Verlassens, als auch mit der mythologischen Figur Prometheus sowie den Protagonisten des Romans Frankenstein von Mary Shelley.

Stephen G. Rhodes lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und New Orleans. Er hatte Einzelausstellung im Migros Museum in Zürich (2013) sowie im Hammer Museum in Los Angeles (2010). Darüber hinaus war an Gruppenausstellungen u.a. in den Kunst-Werken in Berlin (2015), im CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art in San Francisco (2011) sowie im New Museum in New York (2009) beteiligt.