Avery Singer:
Sailor
27.4. – 11.6.2017

Avery Singer_Ankündigungsmotiv_Foto David Lieske
Avery Singer: Sailor
27.4. – 11.6.2017
Opening: Wednesday, 26.4.2017, 7 pm

Avery Singer was born in New York in 1987; in the recent past, she has formed a body of work which can be reckoned among the most powerful contributions to the recent history of art and has provided the medium of painting with new impulses – particularly in the context of the changing technical conditions surrounding it. Thus the artist utilises 3D programs like SketchUp or Blender to produce virtual visual worlds: in terms of their formal appearance these can be read as simple animations and accordingly make direct reference to their origins. Singer uses an airbrush gun to transfer this visual creation to her usually large-format canvasses, thereby negating any sense of a distinctive “hand of the artist”. Her approach results in visual formulations that allude stylistically to French Cubism as well as grisaille painting and thus seem, in a certain sense, to proclaim an anachronistic aesthetic.
At the level of content Singer thematises socio-political questions; in doing so, it is not uncommon for her to specifically focus on a humorous look at the rules and rituals of the art scene. For example, she has occupied herself with the process of a studio visit, the role of the artist or director as entertainer, the life of a muse or the image of the patron. Singer’s painting also repeatedly contains allusions to the great masters of the history of art, which also places particular emphasis on the conceptual aspects of her work.
Thanks to the unique nature of her work as an artist, Avery Singer has already been included in numerous international exhibitions in recent years: she has had solo presentations at the Kunsthalle Zürich, at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles and at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. Within the context of her exhibition at the Kölnischer Kunstverein, which will open with a barbecue party on the occasion of the ArtCologne 2017, the artist’s manner of working will be presented to a broader audience in Germany. At the same time, the exhibition also presents a new group of works in addition to her figurative compositions; they represent a
stylistic break with her previous pieces and Singer uses them to explore the broad realm of abstraction. These works are embedded within an architecture developed specifically for them: the space and the art will be interwoven with one another within the framework of the exhibition.

An artist’s book will appear in connection with the exhibition, which was developed in cooperation with the Vienna Secession.

Kindly supported by:
Singer_Logos-900x240_2

Photo: David Lieske

Avery Singer:
Sailor
27.4. – 11.6.2017

Avery Singer_Ankündigungsmotiv_Foto David Lieske

Avery Singer: Sailor
27.4. – 11.6.2017
Eröffnung: Mittwoch, den 26.4.2017, 19 Uhr

Avery Singer, geboren 1987 in New York, hat in der jüngeren Vergangenheit ein Werk geprägt, das zu den kraftvollsten Beiträgen zur jüngeren Kunstgeschichte gezählt werden kann und der Gattung Malerei – gerade vor dem Hintergrund der sich wandelnden technischen Rahmenbedingungen – neue Impulse liefert. So produziert die Künstlerin anhand von 3D-Programmen wie SketchUp oder Blender virtuelle Bildwelten, die sich in ihrer formalen Erscheinung als einfache Animationen lesen lassen und damit unmittelbar auf ihren Ursprung verweisen. Diese Bildschöpfung überträgt Singer mittels einer Airbrush-Pistole auf zumeist großformatige Leinwände, sodass jegliche Form von Handschrift negiert wird. Das Resultat dieser Vorgehensweise sind visuelle Formulierungen, die stilistisch auf den französischen Kubismus sowie die Grisaillemalerei verweisen und somit in gewisser Hinsicht eine anachronistische Ästhetik zu proklamieren scheinen.
Auf inhaltlicher Ebene thematisiert Singer gesellschaftspolitische Fragestellungen, wobei sie nicht selten auf humorvolle Weise insbesondere die Regeln und Rituale der Kunstszene in den Fokus rückt. So beschäftigt sie sich etwa mit dem Ablauf eines Atelierbesuches, der Rolle des Künstlers oder Direktors als Animateur, dem Dasein einer Muse oder dem Bild des Mäzens. Immer wieder finden sich in den Bildern von Singer zudem Anspielungen auf die großen Meister der Kunstgeschichte, durch die nicht zuletzt auch die konzeptuellen Aspekte ihres Schaffens eine Betonung erfahren.
Dank der Einzigartigkeit ihres künstlerischen Schaffens war Avery Singer in den letzten Jahren bereits an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen beteiligt: sie hatte Einzelpräsentationen in der Kunsthalle Zürich, im Hammer Museum in Los Angeles sowie im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung im Kölnischen Kunstverein, die anlässlich der ArtCologne 2017, soll die Arbeitsweise der Künstlerin erstmals einem breiteren Publikum in Deutschland vorgestellt werden. Dabei umfasst die Ausstellung neben figurativen Kompositionen ebenfalls eine neue Werkgruppe, die stilistisch mit ihren bisherigen Arbeiten bricht und anhand derer Singer das weite Feld der Abstraktion erkundet.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch:
Singer_Logos-900x240_2

Foto: David Lieske