Aus- & Vortragen
Merchants Freely Enter Screening and artist talk with Ani Schulze

IMG_2056c

Wednesday, November 29, 2017, 7pm
Merchants Freely Enter Screening and artist talk with Ani Schulze

In her installations, films, and drawings, Ani Schulze (*1982) creates visual worlds in which history and stories are not told in a conventional manner, but rather encircled in dreamlike images. For example, abandoned architectural structures or cultivated landscapes are scanned by means of a camera and then slowly revealed in her films in the form of rhythmic sequences. With the places she shows, Schulze explores the (failed) utopias of modernism as well as the relationship between man and nature. She examines social developments both past and present using the latest media technology, such as drones, as well as visual formulas and pictorial traditions drawn from landscape painting or comics.

As part of the lecture series AUS- & VORTRAGEN, Ani Schulze will show the work Aerial Vortices (2015) and her latest film Merchants Freely Enter (2017), which was created during her artist residency at Schloss Ringenberg. Within this context, she will speak about forces of gravity, bird’s-eye views, camouflage, Robobirds, picnics, cornfields, and surveillance panoramas.

The lecture will take place in German. Please note that the event will be filmed.
Admission €4 / concessions €2. Free for members.

With the kind support of:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Image: Ani Schulze, Finding the fawn, 2017, 50 x 30 cm, paper collage, courtesy the artist
© Ani Schulze

Aus- & Vortragen
high-density
Lecture by the artist Thomas Wachholz

ThomasWachholz_CMYK KKV TW

Wednesday, November 15, 2017, 7pm
high-density Lecture of the artist Thomas Wachholz

Thomas Wachholz (* 1984, lives and works in Cologne) examines the general conditions of industrial, handicraft, and artistic production in his formally reduced works. His works are imbued with conceptual thought and particularly emphasize both the significance and necessity of personal choice and social interaction. Wachholz’ practice is reminiscent of the efficient structuring of everyday work, the functionality and monotony of which fascinates him. For each of his groups of works, he defines a set of rules that describes processes within which materials, substances, or participants respond to each other. For example, he rubs off the color of a printed banner, creates a drawing by means of lighting matches, or has a billboard continuously rehung. Even though the linear production processes may seem unromantic, it is precisely in this that the poetry of the works lies. There is no going back in its process – Wachholz, however, sounds out the depths within the conditions that have been imposed upon it. In this way, the subjective is absorbed into the works and becomes perceptible in details and nuances.

Thomas Wachholz will introduce his practice at the event and also show an installation that was developed in cooperation with Juliane Duft and realized especially for the Kölnischer Kunstverein.

The lecture will take place in German. Please note that the event will be filmed.
Admission €4 / concessions €2. Free for members.

With the kind support of:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Photo: Thomas Wachholz, CMYK, 2012, 02:03 min (film still); © Thomas Wachholz

Aus- & Vortragen
Lecture by the artist Jonathan Monk

JonathanMonk_IMG_8302

Wednesday, November 11, 2017, 7pm
One Year Lecture by artist Jonathan Monk

Jonathan Monk (*1969, Leicester, UK) became known through his appropriation and restructuring of works of Minimal and Conceptual Art, or also Postmodernism. His artistic work – now an integral part of the international scene – has been characterized since the beginning by an analytical acumen that is generally broken by a humorous tone. In his wall works, drawings, sculptures, photographs, and films, he explores the concept of the original as well as the cult of the personality that dominates the art world, or aspects of homage and reference. Monk’s works are always associated with the objective of paying respectful tribute to the person quoted, while demystifying their practices in the same way. Time and time again, he shows in the gaps opened up by his rewritings, transformations and shifts that the personal is also a motor of artistic production.

In the lecture One Year, the British artist will speak about his work with a special focus given to works produced over the last twelve months.

The lecture will take place in English. Please note that the event will be filmed.
Admission €4 / concessions €2. Free for members.

In cooperation with Mélange:
LOGO_Melange

With the kind support of:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Photo: Jonathan Monk

Aus- & Vortragen
Installation and artist talk by and with Matthias Sohr

Aus- und Vortragen. Matthias Sohr

Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2017, 7pm
Installation and artist talk by and with Matthias Sohr

Matthias Sohr (* 1980) appropriates frequently overlooked objects and signs from everyday spaces. In his installations, he liberates stair lifts, handrails, circuit boards, and language from their intended use so that they appear technically cool and “uncannily” autonomous without a reference to the human body. Their forms appear aesthetically reduced in the context of an art space, perhaps even elegant. Since the objects point to their surroundings, they deliver formal references to minimal art. As post-minimalist implementations, however, they cast shadows back to their places of use. The relationship between object and viewer, the human body and technology, is re-experienced through its psychological, emotional dimension.

Matthias Sohr will guide visitors through his installation as part of the Aus- und Vortragen event, which is curated by Juliane Duft.

Please note that the event will be filmed. We would also like to point out that the event space is not barrier-free. Please let us know in advance if we can support you in your visit in this respect.

Admission €4 / concessions €2. Free for members.

With the kind support of:
Logos_A&V_3_16
This event is also supported by:
Lifta

Image: Matthias Sohr, Generational 2016, Courtesy the artist and ACUD gallery, Berlin
Photo: Eric Bell

Cameron Jamie
Bodies, Faces, Heads
21. 10 – 10. 12 2017

cameron-jamie-twopalms

Cameron Jamie: Bodies, Faces, Heads 
21. October – 10. December 2017

Opening: Friday, 20. October 2017, 6-8pm

With Bodies, Faces, Heads, the Kölnischer Kunstverein presents Cameron Jamie’s first institutional solo exhibition in Germany. Born in Los Angeles in 1969 and currently based in Paris, Jamie has built a body of work over a good 25 years using an enormous variety of media: It comprises wood sculptures, ceramics, drawings, prints, photographs, films, artist’s books, and musical productions.

One of his central themes is identity as the existential foundation of the individual, which is generated by social and anti-social codes. Jamie’s view of marginalized realities and magically obscure rituals that embody the hidden side of our society is both analytical and immersive at the same time: Jamie himself is partly shaped by the subcultures that he transforms artistically. His creative process is, therefore, anything but scientific or coolly calculated – Jamie follows a spontaneous, psychologically inspired search for form, the result of which is deeply personal while giving off an archaic, primitive atmosphere at the same time. It is about states of being and consciousness instead of concrete connections of meaning.

The Kölnischer Kunstverein is presenting five groups of works revolving around the topic of the body and nature, all produced between 2008 and 2017. The group Smiling Disease (2008) consists of large-format wooden masks in the tradition of the Austrian Alpine region of Bad Gastein. Jamie produced them in collaboration with a professional wood carver who re-interpreted Jamie’s drawings and lent them a grotesque, deformed countenance. Ceramics on metal pedestals are shown in the second room, ghostly figures hand-produced by the artist that intertwine with the organic flow of the plinth forms in the third room. The direct, powerful treatment of the clay, the pulsating variety of form, and the elaborate glazing all allow the figures to lead a life of their own like alien beings in the room.

A series of ceramic masks hangs on the walls, their interiors presenting as peculiar, hollow faces, like monotypes that evoke a variety of floral and figurative associations. Each work on paper is unique and contains several layers of drawings and colors – a characteristic that reflects Jamie’s creative process in general: erasing, overwriting, destroying, and restoring are fundamental features inherent in each of his works.

Cameron Jamie’s previous solo exhibitions have included the Kunsthalle Zürich in Zürich (2013), the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles (2010), the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Nantes (2009), and the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis (2006). He has also been part of group exhibitions like The Absent Museum at Wiels Center of Contemporary Art in Brussels (2017), the Lyon Biennale (2015), the Berlin Biennale (2010 and 2008), and the Venice Biennale (2005). His work was first shown at Kölnischer Kunstverein within the framework of the exhibition Keine Donau: Cameron Jamie, Peter Kogler, Kurt Kren (2006).

Supported by

AK_Kultur_und_Wissenschaft_Schwarz_CMYK

PSSparenLogo_1c_ZW_RZ         STK_logo_kulturamt-standalone_1c         Gaffel2017

Das Ausstellungsprojekt wird mit großem Engagement begleitet und unterstützt von
Andra Lauffs-Wegner & KAT_A

Picture: Cameron Jamie, 2017, 111 x 86 cm. Photo: David Regen

Jahresgaben 2017

AnneSpeier_KKV17_FotoSimonVogel_Jahresgaben 492017-JAHRESGABEN_171123_S1

The works could be seen in the exhibition and on our a href=”http://koelnischerkunstverein.de/wp/category/jahresgaben-koelnischer-kunstverein/jahresgaben-aktuell/”>homepage.

Please note the following regarding the Jahresgaben ordering process:

Each order must be IN WRITING AND IS BINDING. Please use the order form underneath each individual work and follow the steps indicated there. Reservations are not possible.

The purchase of the current Jahresgaben is EXCLUSIVELY FOR MEMBERS OF THE KÖLNISCHEN KUNSTVEREIN. Orders from non-members can only be considered if at the same time a membership application is submitted. After a one year non-members can purchase the previous “aktuelle Jahresgaben”.

THE LOT DECIDES for all orders submitted before December 10, 2016, 6 P.M. for works where there is more orders than works available. You will be notified by us.

Please understand that you can only receive the work AFTER PAYMENT OF THE INVOICE. The works can be picked up at the Kunstverein or sent to you upon request by courier at YOUR OWN EXPENSE. For personal collection, please make an appointment in advance, so that we can pack the piece suitable for transport.

Please note that we notify the names and addresses of each purchaser on request the artist.

Aus- & Vortragen
Ein Licht im Dunkeln Weihnachtsaufführung mit Claus Richter

Ein Licht im Dunklen Karte_RGB

Mittwoch, 6.12.2017, 19 Uhr
Ein Licht im Dunkeln Weihnachtsaufführung mit Claus Richter

Dieses Jahr wird der Kölner Künstler Claus Richter die Theorie, die er in den letzten Jahren in seinen Weihnachtsvorträgen im Kölnischen Kunstverein über die Geschichte und das Erscheinungsbild des Weihnachtsfestes erarbeitet hat, in die Praxis umsetzen. Mit eigenen und traditionellen Geschichten und Liedern, einem selbstgeschriebenen Weihnachtsspiel, einem speziellen Bühnenbild und vielen kleinen Überraschungen wird Richter am Nikolaustag die Bühne des Kölnischen Kunstvereins in ein Weihnachtswunderland verwandeln.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung gefilmt wird.
Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Motiv: © Claus Richter

Aus- & Vortragen
Merchants Freely Enter Screening und Künstlergespräch mit Ani Schulze

IMG_2056c

Mittwoch, 29.11.2017, 19 Uhr
Merchants Freely Enter Screening und Künstlergespräch mit Ani Schulze

Die Künstlerin Ani Schulze (*1982) erschafft in ihren Installationen, Filmen oder Zeichnungen visuelle Welten, in denen Geschichte und Geschichten nicht konventionell erzählt, sondern in traumartigen Bildern umkreist werden. Beispielsweise werden verlassene Architekturen oder kultivierte Landschaften mittels einer Kamera abgetastet, die sich dann in ihren Filmen in Form von rhythmischen Sequenzen langsam erschließen. Anhand der gezeigten Orte erkundet Schulze die (gescheiterten) Utopien der Moderne wie auch das Verhältnis von Mensch zur Natur. Vergangene und aktuelle gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen untersucht sie anhand von neuester Medientechnik, wie beispielsweise Drohnen, und visuellen Formeln und Bildtraditionen, wie etwa der Landschaftsmalerei oder dem Comic.

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe AUS- & VORTRAGEN zeigt Ani Schulze die Arbeit Aerial Vortices (2015) und ihren neuesten Film Merchants Freely Enter (2017), der während ihrer Künstler-Residenz auf Schloss Ringenberg entstand. In diesem Kontext spricht sie über Gravitation, Vogelperspektiven, Camouflage, Robobirds, Picknicks, Kornfelder und Überwachungs-Panoramen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung gefilmt wird.
Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Motiv: Ani Schulze, Finding the fawn, 50 x 30 cm, Papiercollage, Courtesy the artist
© Ani Schulze

Aus- & Vortragen
high-density
Vortrag des Künstlers Thomas Wachholz

ThomasWachholz_CMYK KKV TW

Mittwoch, 15.11.2017, 19 Uhr
high-density Vortrag des Künstlers Thomas Wachholz

Thomas Wachholz (* 1984, lebt und arbeitet Köln) untersucht in seinen formal reduzierten Werken die Rahmenbedingungen industrieller, handwerklicher und künstlerischer Produktion. Seine Arbeiten sind somit von konzeptuellen Gedanken durchdrungen und betonen dabei insbesondere die Bedeutung und Notwendigkeit von persönlicher Entscheidung und sozialer Interaktion. Die Praxis von Wachholz erinnert an die effiziente Strukturierung alltäglicher Arbeiten, deren Funktionalität und Monotonie ihn fasziniert. Für jede seiner Werkgruppen legt er einen Regelapparat fest, der Prozesse beschreibt, innerhalb derer Materialien, Substanzen oder auch Akteure miteinander reagieren. Beispielsweise reibt er die Farbe eines bedruckten Banners ab, erzeugt eine Zeichnung mittels Streichholz-Zündungen oder lässt von einem Plakateur ein Billboard kontinuierlich neu bekleben. Auch wenn die linearen Herstellungsprozesse unromantisch anmuten, liegt gerade in ihnen die Poesie der Arbeiten. In ihrem Verlauf gibt es kein Zurück – allerdings lotet Wachholz die Freiräume innerhalb der eigens auferlegten Rahmenbedingungen aus. Auf diese Weise zieht das Subjektive in die Arbeiten ein und wird in Details und Nuancen wahrnehmbar.

Thomas Wachholz führt im Rahmen der Veranstaltung in seine Praxis ein und zeigt darüber hinaus eine eigens für den Kölnischen Kunstverein realisierte Installation, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Juliane Duft entwickelt wurde.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung gefilmt wird.
Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Foto: Thomas Wachholz, Filmstill aus CMYK, 2012, 02:03 min; © Thomas Wachholz

Aus- & Vortragen
Vortrag des Künstlers Jonathan Monk

JonathanMonk_IMG_8302

Mittwoch, 08.11.2017, 19 Uhr
One Year Vortrag des Künstlers Jonathan Monk

Jonathan Monk (* 1969 in Leicester) wurde durch die Aneignung und Umformungen von Werken der Minimal und Conceptual Art oder auch der Postmoderne bekannt. Seit den Anfängen seines künstlerischen Schaffens, das mittlerweile zum festen Bestandteil der internationalen Szene zählt, zeichnen sich die Arbeiten durch einen analytischen Scharfsinn aus, der zumeist durch humorvolle Töne gebrochen wird. Dabei untersucht er in seinen Wandarbeiten, Zeichnungen, Skulpturen, Fotografien und Filmen den Begriff des Originals genauso wie den in der Kunstwelt vorherrschenden Personenkult oder die Aspekte Hommage sowie Referentialität. Stets verbindet sich mit den Werken von Monk die Zielsetzung, den Zitierten in respektvoller Weise Tribut zu zollen, wobei er deren Praxen genauso entmystifiziert. Immer wieder zeigt er in den Lücken, die seine Neuschreibungen, Umformungen und Verschiebungen aufmachen, auch das Persönliche als Motor der künstlerischen Produktion.

Im Rahmen seines Vortrags One Year referiert der Brite über sein Werk, wobei ein besonderer Fokus auf die Produktionen der vergangenen zwölf Monate gelegt wird.

Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung gefilmt wird.
Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

In Kooperation mit Mélange:
LOGO_Melange

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Foto: Jonathan Monk

Aus- & Vortragen
Installation und Künstlergespräch von und mit Matthias Sohr

Aus- und Vortragen. Matthias Sohr

Mittwoch, 25.10.2017, 19 Uhr
Installation und Künstlergespräch von und mit Matthias Sohr

Matthias Sohr (* 1980) eignet sich Objekte und Zeichen aus Zwischenräumen des Alltags an, die oftmals übersehen werden. Treppenlifte, Stützgriffe, Leiterplatten und Sprache befreit er in seinen Installationen von ihrer eigentlichen Funktionalität, sodass sie sich ohne den Bezug zum menschlichen Körper als technisch kühl und “unheimlich” autonom zeigen. Ihre Formen wirken im Kontext eines Kunstraums ästhetisch reduziert, vielleicht sogar elegant. Da die Objekte auf ihren Umraum verweisen, liefern sie formal Referenzen an die Minimal Art. Als postminimalistische Setzungen werfen sie allerdings Schatten zurück auf die Orte ihres Gebrauchs. Die Beziehung von Objekt und Betrachter, menschlichem Körper und Technologie erhält mit ihrer psychologischen, emotionalen Dimension eine neue Erfahrbarkeit.

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe Aus- und Vortragen, die kuratorisch von Juliane Duft betreut wird, führt Matthias Sohr durch seine Installation.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Veranstaltung gefilmt wird. Zudem möchten wie Sie darauf hinweisen, dass das Haus nicht barrierefrei ist. Lassen Sie uns insofern vorab wissen, ob wir Sie beim Besuch der Veranstaltung begleiten dürfen.

Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch:
Logos_A&V_3_16

Ferner wird diese Veranstaltung unterstützt von:
Lifta

Motiv: Matthias Sohr, Generational 2016, Courtesy der Künstler und ACUD gallery, Berlin
Foto: Eric Bell

Cameron Jamie
Bodies, Faces, Heads
21.10. – 10.12.2017

cameron-jamie-twopalms

Cameron Jamie: Bodies, Faces, Heads
21.10. – 10.12.2017

Auftakt der Ausstellung: Freitag, 20.10.2017, 18–20 Uhr

Mit Bodies, Faces, Heads präsentiert der Kölnische Kunstverein die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Cameron Jamie in Deutschland. Das Werk des 1969 in Los Angeles geborenen Künstlers, der heute in Paris lebt, ist über einen Zeitraum von gut 25 Jahren entstanden und von enormer medialer Vielfalt: Es umfasst Holzskulpturen, Keramiken, Zeichnungen, druckgrafische Arbeiten, Fotografien, Filme, Künstlerbücher sowie musikalische Produktionen.

Eines seiner zentralen Themen ist Identität als existenzielle Grundlage des Individuums, die durch soziale und anti-soziale Codes erzeugt wird. Jamies Blick auf randständige Realitäten und magisch-obskure Rituale, die die verdeckte Seite unserer Gesellschaft verkörpern, ist analytisch und immersiv zugleich: Jamie ist teils selbst geprägt von den Subkulturen, die er künstlerisch transformiert. Dabei ist sein Schaffensprozess alles andere als wissenschaftlich oder kühl kalkuliert – Jamie folgt einer spontanen, psychologisch inspirierten Formfindung, deren Ergebnis zutiefst persönlich ist und zugleich eine archaische, urtümliche Atmosphäre freisetzt. Statt um konkrete Bedeutungszusammenhänge geht es um Zustände des Seins und des Bewusstseins.

Im Kölnischen Kunstverein werden fünf Werkgruppen von 2008 bis 2017 vorgestellt, die das Thema Körper und Natur umkreisen. Die Gruppe Smiling Disease (2008) besteht aus großformatigen Holzmasken, wie sie in der österreichischen Alpenregion Bad Gastein Tradition sind – Jamie fertigte sie gemeinsam mit einem professionellen Holzschnitzer an, der seine Zeichnungen re-interpretierte und ihnen einen groteskes, deformiertes Antlitz verlieh. Im zweiten Raum sind Keramiken der auf Metallsockeln ausgestellt: vom Künstler handgearbeitete, geisterhafte Körper, die im dritten Raum mit organisch fließenden Sockelformen verwachsen. Die direkte, kraftvolle Bearbeitung des Tons, die pulsierende Formenvielfalt der Figuren und die aufwändigen Glasuren lassen die Figuren wie fremde Wesen im Raum ein Eigenleben führen.

An den Wänden hängen eine Serie von Keramikmasken, die sich mit ihrer Innenseite als eigentümliche, hohle Gesichter präsentieren, sowie Monotypien, die eine Vielfalt von floralen und figürlichen Assoziationen auslösen. Jede Papierarbeit ist ein Unikat und birgt mehrere Schichten von Zeichnungen und Farben – ein Merkmal, das Jamies Schaffensprozess generell widerspiegelt: Ausradieren, Überschreiben, Zerstören und Wiederansetzen sind elementare Grundzüge, der jeder seiner Arbeiten innewohnen.

Cameron Jamie hatte u.a. Einzelausstellungen in der Kunsthalle Zürich in Zürich (2013), im Hammer Museum in Los Angeles (2010), im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Nantes (2009) sowie im Walker Art Center in Minneapolis (2006). Darüber hinaus war er an Gruppenausstellungen, wie “The Absent Museum” Wiels – Centre d’Art Contemporain in Brüssel (2017), der Biennale von Lyon (2015), der Berlin Biennale (2010 und 2008) sowie der Biennale von Venedig (2005) beteiligt. Im Kölnischen Kunstverein wurden Werke des Amerikaners erstmals im Rahmen der Ausstellung “Keine Donau: Cameron Jamie, Peter Kogler, Kurt Kren” präsentiert (2006). Ab dem 17. November zeigt er eine Einzelausstellung in dem Düsseldorfer Projektraum CAPRI.

Gefördert vom

AK_Kultur_und_Wissenschaft_Schwarz_CMYK

PSSparenLogo_1c_ZW_RZ         STK_logo_kulturamt-standalone_1c         Gaffel2017

Das Ausstellungsprojekt wird mit großem Engagement begleitet und unterstützt von
Andra Lauffs-Wegner & KAT_A

Motiv: Cameron Jamie, Untitled, 2017, 111 x 86 cm, Courtesy Two Palms, New York
Foto: David Regen

Aus- & Vortragen
Oktober—November 2017

Aus- und Vortragen Veranstaltungen Oktober - November 2017

 

MI 25.10., 19 Uhr Installation und Künstlergespräch von und mit Matthias Sohr
MI 08.11., 19 Uhr Vortrag des Künstlers Jonathan Monk
MI 15.11., 19 Uhr Vortrag des Künstlers
MI 29.11., 19 Uhr ‘Merchants Freely Enter’ Screening und Künstlergespräch mit Ani Schulze

Eintritt 4,00 €, ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von
Logos_A&V_3_16