Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord

Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord

Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord, 1998. Photo: Schellmann Art, Munich.

Three grano lithographs, printed in six colors on Rives rag paper
each print 50 x 40 cm
Edition: 60
each signed, numbered

Hanne Darboven’s oeuvre is characterized by rhythm and time, a unity that is both abstract and concrete, just like her own work. Trained as a pianist and driven by the conviction that time is the essence of our existence, her pronounced sense of tempo, structure, and repetition determines her thousands of serial works on often typewriter paper: sensitively handwritten mathematical calculations and numbers, codes, compositions based on calendar days, diagrams, text sequences, and notes—methodically patterned, rastered, and combined with hues, images, and objects and arranged in installations.

The annual edition of the Kölnischer Kunstverein, a three-part lithography series, traces stations of Darboven’s life in Hamburg. To the images of artificial marble in three different shades of color are added hand-written locations. Darboven used this visualization and sorting of information, documents, and data according to self-imposed rules not only as a far-reaching record of historical events from politics, culture and society, but also of her own biography. Similar to the work of a historiographer, the broad range of topics and the richness of her photographic material give her work the appearance of a visual encyclopedia of (personal) contemporary history.

Hanne Darboven (*1941 in Munich, died 2009 in Hamburg-Harburg) studied at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg until 1965 and was represented for the first time with a solo presentation in 1967 at the Galerie Konrad Fischer in Düsseldorf. Numerous further solo exhibitions followed, including 1970 at the Museum of Modern Art and 1971 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York. Hanne Darboven participated in the Documenta in Kassel in 1972, 1977, 1982 and 2002 and represented Germany at the Biennale di Venezia in 1982. The Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn and the Haus der Kunst in Munich jointly dedicated a parallel retrospective to the artist in 2015 to honor her outstanding practice. Her works can be found in numerous renowned international collections and museums of modern art.

€ 1.000,00
Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord, 1998. Photo: Schellmann Art, Munich.

Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord

Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord

Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord, 1998. Foto: Schellmann Art, München.

3 Granolithographien auf Bütten
50 x 40 cm jedes Blatt
Auflage: 60
jeweils monogrammiert, nummeriert

Hanne Darbovens Œuvre ist geprägt von Rhythmus und Zeit, eine zugleich abstrakte und konkrete Einheit, ganz so wie ihr eigenes Werk. Ausgebildet als Pianistin und getrieben von der Überzeugung, dass Zeit die Essenz unserer Existenz ist, bestimmt ihr ausgeprägter Sinn für Tempo, Struktur und Wiederholung ihre Tausenden von seriellen Arbeiten auf oftmals Schreibmaschinenpapier: feinfühlig handgeschriebene mathematische Berechnungen und Zahlen, Codierungen, Kompositionen basierend auf Kalendertagen, Diagrammen, Textfolgen und Notizen – methodisch gemustert, gerastert und kombiniert mit Farbtönen, Bildern und Objekten und in Installationen angeordnet.

Die Jahresgabe des Kölnischen Kunstvereins, eine dreiteilige Lithographieserie, zeichnet Stationen aus Darbovens Leben in Hamburg auf. Die Abbildungen von künstlichem Marmor in drei verschiedenen Farbschattierungen sind mit handgeschriebenen Ortsangaben versehen. Jene Visualisierung und Sortierung von Informationen, Dokumenten und Daten nach selbst auferlegten Regeln nutzte Darboven nicht nur als eine weitreichende Aufzeichnung historischer Ereignisse aus Politik, Kultur und Gesellschaft, sondern auch ihrer eigenen Biografie. Ähnlich der Tätigkeit einer Historiographin, verleihen das breite Themenspektrum und der Reichtum ihres fotografischen Materials ihrem Werk den Anschein einer visuellen Enzyklopädie von (persönlicher) Zeitgeschichte.

Hanne Darboven (*1941 in München, gest. 2009 in Hamburg-Harburg) studierte bis 1965 an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg und war erstmals mit einer Einzelpräsentation 1967 in der Galerie Konrad Fischer in Düsseldorf vertreten. Es folgten zahlreiche weitere Einzelausstellungen u.a. 1970 im Museum of Modern Art und 1971 im Guggenheim-Museum in New York. Hanne Darboven nahm 1972, 1977, 1982 und 2002 an der Documenta in Kassel teil und vertrat Deutschland 1982 auf der Biennale di Venezia. Die Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn und das Haus der Kunst in München widmeten der Künstlerin 2015 gemeinsam eine parallele Retrospektive, um ihr herausragendes Schaffen zu würdigen. Ihre Werke sind in zahlreichen renommierten, internationalen Sammlungen und Museen für moderne Kunst zu finden.

€ 1.000,00
Hanne Darboven: Künstlicher Marmor, Kirche Neuenfelde, Harburg Elbe Nord, 1998. Foto: Schellmann Art, München.