John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A … & etc.

John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A … & etc.

John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A ... & etc., 2009. Aufgefaltet. Foto: Schellmann Art, München.

10-part Leporello, digital pigment print (Ditone) on Hahnemühle Photo Rag paper
32 x 250 cm (unfolded)
Edition: 75
signed, numbered on backside label

The relationship between speaking and showing, language and image is the object of investigation in John Baldessari’s artistic work. After turning away from painting around 1970, he began working primarily with visual material and texts from the mass media. His style is characterized by the superimposition of photographs and painted surfaces, whereby he removes pictures from their original context and processes them by overpainting, retouching, contrasting and cutting. In unique pieces, prints, artist’s books, videos, films, billboards and public works, he deals with pop culture in an ironic and playful way. Baldessari has significantly influenced generations of artists.

His ten-part leporello, available through the Kölnischer Kunstverein, shows the artist’s surname, with each letter followed by an illustration of an object or person (Bone, Antenna, Lincoln, Dog, etc.) that bears the same initial letter—a typographical representation familiar from children’s books for learning the alphabet. It is one of his thousands of works which demonstrate—and, in many cases, combine—the narrative potential of images and the associative power of language within the boundaries of the work of art.

John Baldessari (*1931 in National City, California, died 2020 in Venice, California) was an American conceptual artist known for his work featuring found photography and appropriated images. Initially a painter, Baldessari began to incorporate texts and photography into his canvases in the mid-1960s. In 1970 he began working in printmaking, film, video, installation, sculpture and photography. He taught at the California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, CA from 1970-1988 and UCLA 1996-2007. Baldessari’s artwork has been featured in more than 300 solo exhibitions and in over 1000 group exhibitions in the U.S. and Europe. His projects include unique works, prints, artist books, videos, films, billboards and public works. Major retrospectives and solo exhibitions have been shown recently at Museo Jumex, Mexico City (2017), Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main (2015), and as touring exhibition at Tate Modern, London, MACBA, Barcelona, LACMA, Los Angeles, and Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (all 2010/2011).

€ 1.500,00

John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A … & etc.

John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A … & etc.

John Baldessari: Give me a B, give me an A … & etc., 2009. Aufgefaltet. Foto: Schellmann Art.

10teiliger Leporello, digitaler Pigmentdruck (Ditone) auf Hahnemühle Photobütten
32 x 250 cm (auseinandergefaltet)
Auflage: 75
signiert, nummeriert auf Label rückseitig

Das Verhältnis von Sprechen und Zeigen, Sprache und Bild ist Untersuchungsgegenstand des künstlerischen Schaffens John Baldessaris. Nach seiner Abkehr von der Malerei um 1970 begann er vor allem mit visuellem Material und Texten aus den Massenmedien zu arbeiten. Sein Stil zeichnet sich aus durch die Überlagerung von Fotografien und gemalten Flächen, wobei er Bilder aus ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext herauslöst und durch Übermalung, Retusche, Kontrastierung und Schnitt bearbeitet. In Unikaten, Drucken, Künstlerbüchern, Videos, Filmen, Werbetafeln und öffentlichen Arbeiten setzt er sich ironisch wie spielerisch mit der Popkultur auseinander. Baldessari hat Generationen von Künstler*innen maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Sein über den Kölnischen Kunstverein erhältliches zehnteiliges Leporello zeigt den Nachnamen des Künstlers, wobei jedem Buchstaben eine Illustration eines Gegenstands oder einer Person folgt (Bone, Antenna, Lincoln, Dog, usw.), der/die denselben Anfangsbuchstaben trägt – eine typografische Darstellung, wie man sie aus Kinderbüchern zum Erlernen des Alphabets kennt. Es ist eines seiner tausend Werken, die das narrative Potenzial von Bildern und die assoziative Kraft der Sprache innerhalb der Grenzen des Kunstwerks demonstrieren und in vielen Fällen auch kombinieren.

John Baldessari (*1931 in National City, Kalifornien, gest. 2020 in Venice, Kalifornien) war ein amerikanischer Konzeptkünstler, der für seine Arbeiten mit vorgefundener Fotografie und appropriierten Bildern bekannt ist. Ursprünglich Maler, begann Baldessari Mitte der 1960er Jahre damit, Texte und Fotografie in seine Leinwände zu integrieren. Ab 1970 arbeitete er in den Bereichen Druckgrafik, Film, Video, Installation, Skulptur und Fotografie. Von 1970-1988 unterrichtete er am California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, CA, und von 1996-2007 an der UCLA. Baldessaris Kunstwerke wurden in mehr als 300 Einzelausstellungen und in über 1000 Gruppenausstellungen in den USA und Europa gezeigt. Große Retrospektiven und Einzelausstellungen wurden kürzlich im Museo Jumex in Mexiko-Stadt (2017), im Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main (2015) und als Wanderausstellung in der Tate Modern in London, im MACBA in Barcelona, im LACMA in Los Angeles und im Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York (alle 2010/2011) gezeigt.

€ 1.500,00