Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt

Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt

Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt, 2008. Details. Photo: Schellmann Art, Munich.

Portfolio with 17 digital pigment prints on semi-transparent paper, mounted on sheets of rag paper
50 x 40 cm each, plus text
Edition: 50
signed, numbered on colophon page

The work of Luc Tuymans, who donated the Vereinsgabe for the Kölnischer Kunstverein in 2017, came into the focus of the international art scene at the beginning of the 1990s, when the genre of painting seemed to have little relevance. He himself describes his mostly small-format paintings, which are based on film and photography techniques and are characterized by a reduced color palette, so that the motifs appear as if they had been washed out or faded, as “immaterial images”. The reduction, unobtrusiveness, and stillness of the works are often in contrast to the drastic and vehemence of the themes depicted, which are historical as well as social events, processes, and phenomena, such as the Holocaust, colonial politics in Belgian Congo, and September 11, 2001. Violence and silence are the determining supposed antonyms. Tuyman’s drawings and paintings arise from precise observations of manifestations of horror or trivial moments of everyday life, which carry within them the motif of the uncanny and sublime.

The annual edition for the Kölnischer Kunstverein was published in 2007 as part of Luc Tuyman’s exhibition at the Haus der Kunst in Munich. In his examination of the National Socialist history of the exhibition venue, the artist came across art portfolios from 1943 in today’s historical archives. They contain: high-quality color reproductions of paintings and sculptures from the “Great German Art Exhibitions”, which are ideology conform and considered “species pure”, selected by Adolf Hitler’s personal photographer Heinrich Hoffmann and distributed as propaganda material. They show peasant idyll, picturesque landscapes, nudes and heroic war scenes. Tuyman transferred the concept of the portfolio and imitated its graphic design. The preoccupation with National Socialism and the examination of structures of power, abuse of power and the power of images are central to his work.

Luc Tuymans‘ (*1958 in Mortsel, Belgium, lives in Antwerp) work has been honored over the past fifteen years in both Europe and America within the framework of comprehensive solo exhibitions and retrospectives, most recently Palazzo Grassi, Venice, De Pont Museum, Tilburg (both 2019), Reset Gert Robijns, Borgloon (2017), Museum aan de Stroom (MAS), Antwerp, National Portrait Gallery, London, Lille Métropole, musée d’art moderne, d’art contemporain et d’art brut, Villeneuve d’Ascq as well as the 9th Biennale de Montréal (all 2016). In 2015, a major survey of Tuymans’s work was presented at the Qatar Museums Gallery Al Riwaq in Doha. Moreover, previous major survey shows of the artist’s work include those organized by Wiels Centre d’Art Contemporain, Brussels in 2009 (traveled to Baibakov art projects, Moscow, followed by Moderna Museet, Malmö, Sweden) and Tate Modern, London in 2004 (traveled to K21 Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf). Tuymans has already participated twice in the Documenta in Kassel (1992 and 2002) and represented Belgium at the Venice Biennale (2001). His works are part of important museum collections worldwide.

€ 4.000,00

Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt

Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt

Luc Tuymans: Wenn der Frühling kommt, 2008. Details. Foto: Schellmann Art, München.

Mappe mit 17 digitalen Pigmentdrucken auf transparentem Papier, aufgezogen auf Bütten
je 50 x 40 cm, mit Begleittext
Auflage: 50
signiert, nummeriert auf Titelblatt

Das Werk Luc Tuymans, der 2017 die Vereinsgabe für den Kölnischen Kunstverein gestaltete, geriet zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre, als die Gattung Malerei kaum mehr Relevanz zu haben schien in den Fokus der internationalen Kunstszene. Seine zumeist kleinformatigen, an Film- und Fotografietechnik angelehnten Gemälde, die durch eine zurückgenommene Farbpalette gekennzeichnet sind, sodass die Bildmotive wie ausgewaschen oder verblichen anmuten, bezeichnet er selbst als „immaterielle Bilder“. Die Reduktion, Unaufdringlichkeit und Stille der Arbeiten steht dabei nicht selten im Gegensatz zur Drastik und inhaltlichen Vehemenz der dargestellten Themen, bei denen es sich um geschichtliche wie auch soziale Ereignisse, Prozesse und Phänomene, wie etwa den Holocaust, die Kolonialpolitik in Belgisch-Kongo und den 11. September 2001, handelt. Gewalt und Stille sind die bestimmenden vermeintlichen Antonyme. Tuymans Zeichnungen und Malereien entstehen aus präzisen Beobachtungen von Manifestationen des Schreckens oder auch trivialen Momenten des Alltags, die das Motiv des Unheimlichen und Sublimen in sich tragen.

Die vorliegende Jahresgabe für den Kölnischen Kunstverein erschien 2007 als Edition im Rahmen Luc Tuymans Ausstellung im Haus der Kunst in München. In der Auseinandersetzung mit der nationalsozialistischen Geschichte des Ausstellungsortes stieß der Künstler im heutigen historischen Archiv auf Kunstmappen aus dem Jahr 1943. Darin enthalten: hochwertige Farbreproduktionen von ideologiekonformen und als „artrein“ geltenden Gemälden und Plastiken aus den „Großen deutschen Kunstausstellungen“, die von Adolf Hitlers Leibfotografen Heinrich Hoffmann ausgewählt und als Propagandamaterial vertrieben wurden. Sie zeigen bäuerliches Idyll, malerische Landschaften, Aktdarstellungen und heroische Kriegsszenen. Tuyman überträgt das Konzept der Mappe und imitierte ihre grafische Gestaltung. Die Beschäftigung mit dem Nationalsozialismus und die Auseinandersetzung mit Strukturen der Macht, Machtmissbrauch und der Macht von Bildern sind zentral in seinem Werk.

Das Werk von Luc Tuymans (*1958 in Mortsel, Belgien, lebt in Antwerpen) wurde in den letzten fünfzehn Jahren sowohl in Europa als auch in Amerika im Rahmen von umfassenden Einzelausstellungen und Retrospektiven geehrt, zuletzt im Palazzo Grassi, Venedig, De Pont Museum, Tilburg (beide 2019), Reset Gert Robijns, Borgloon (2017), Museum aan de Stroom (MAS), Antwerpen, National Portrait Gallery, London, Lille Métropole, musée d’art moderne, d’art contemporain et d’art brut, Villeneuve d’Ascq sowie die 9. Biennale de Montréal (alle 2016). 2015 wurde in der Qatar Museums Gallery Al Riwaq in Doha eine umfassende Übersicht über das Werk Tuymans präsentiert. Zu den bisherigen großen Überblicksausstellungen zum Werk des Künstlers gehören darüber hinaus die vom Wiels Centre d’Art Contemporain, Brüssel, im Jahr 2009 (Reise zu Baibakov-Kunstprojekten, Moskau, gefolgt von Moderna Museet, Malmö, Schweden) und der Tate Modern, London, im Jahr 2004 (Reise zu K21 Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf) organisierten Ausstellungen. Tuymans hat bereits zweimal an der Documenta in Kassel teilgenommen (1992 und 2002) und vertrat Belgien auf der Biennale in Venedig (2001). Seine Werke sind Teil wichtiger Museumssammlungen weltweit.

€ 4.000,00