Show and Tell #9
Film screening: Tony Conrad, The Flicker, 1966
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1963
Introduction by Marc Siegel: Flickering, Flaming
March 6, 2020

Flaming Creatures_1
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1962-63, Film Still, Copyright Jack Smith Archive, Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York and Brussels

Friday, March 6, 2020, 6 – 8 pm
Show and Tell #9
Film screenings:
Tony Conrad, The Flicker, 1966
16 mm, b/w, 30 min
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1963
16 mm, 45 min

Flickering, Flaming—an introduction by Marc Siegel, Professor for Film Studies at Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
(in English)

With the double presentation of The Flicker and Flaming Creatures, the Kölnischer Kunstverein is showing two films in the framework of the current exhibition, both of which were made as collaborations between Tony Conrad and Jack Smith in the early 1960s in New York and caused scandals. Under the title Flickering, Flaming, film theorist Marc Siegel will outline the unexpected production of the flicker film from Tony Conrad’s experience with Jack Smith.

In 1962, Conrad graduated from Harvard University and moved to New York City, where he associated primarily with experimental musicians and underground filmmakers. He even became roommates with the notorious filmmaker Jack Smith, who prompted Conrad to apply his musical experiments to making movie soundtracks. Conrad’s own career as a filmmaker began on March 5, 1963, when he, Smith, and Mario Montez, Smith’s muse, became entranced by the flickering light of an old projector. Conrad had learned in college about the effects of this phenomenon on brain waves, and so he attempted to make a mind-altering film of nothing more than black and white frames, based on “harmonies” between the frequencies of the flickering light—a procedure similar to his work with sound frequencies. Praised by critics for its structural qualities, audience reactions at the premiere of The Flicker at the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts on September 15, 1966, ranged from nausea to hallucinations.

Tony Conrad produced the soundtrack for Jack Smith’s legendary film Flaming Creatures. Smith’s films are characterized by an unusual low-budget aesthetic and innovations that immediately attracted the praise of the critics. But the open approach to sexuality led to censorship: in 1964 the film triggered one of the biggest scandals in film history and was banned. Soon after, Smith began to use the medium of film not as an independent work, but as a component of performances. Flaming Creatures, probably his most famous film, celebrates a tumultuous harem party with boundless erotic excesses in glamorous black-and-white images.

Marc Siegel is Professor of Film Studies at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz. His book A Gossip of Images is forthcoming from Duke University Press. In 2014, he edited a special issue of the journal Criticism dedicated to Jack Smith. He is a founding member of the Berlin-based art collective CHEAP. In 2009 he co-curated a massive festival at the Arsenal-Institut für Videokunst and HAU in Berlin, called LIVE FILM! JACK SMITH! Five Flaming Days in a Rented World, which had a spinoff version in Frankfurt/Main at Mousonturm and the MMK Museum of Modern Art in 2012. In this context, he worked with Tony Conrad.

»

Show and Tell #8
Arjan Stockhausen: Ja (Null Piece), 2020
February 18, 2020

invite_kkv

Tuesday, February 18, 2020, 6 – 10 pm
Arjan Stockhausen, Ja (Null Piece), 2020
4-channel audio file, 240 min

NO! This sound piece is no sound piece. To listen to this sound piece, do not listen to it. Do not lie down on the floor to listen. Do not lie down on the floor, not to listen. Listen to the silence during the sound, do not listen to the sound during the silence. Do not think of an object while listening, the sound is the object. To lie down on this piece, become this piece, at least. YES!

The program is part of the exhibition TONY CONRAD at the Kölnischer Kunstverein.

The events in the framework of Show and Tell are sponsored by:

Rheinenergie

With the kind support of:

Logozeile_Standard

As a guest:
reiheM – Concert Series for Contemporary Music, Electronics and New Media
December 6, 7 and 13,
2019

rM_Michaela-Melian-MfaFT©Michael-Pfitzner-Paul-Valentin_2

As a guest at the Kölnischer Kunstverein:
reiheM – Concert Series for Contemporary Music, Electronics and New Media

Friday, December 6, 2019, 7 – 11 pm and Saturday, December 7, 2019, 11 am – 7 pm
MICHAELA MELIÁN
Music from a Frontier Town
Sound and video installation

Friday, December 6, 7.30 – 8 pm
Michaela Melián in conversation with Prof. Anke Ortlepp

Re-education. 1,630 vinyl records from the remainder of the public library of the Munich Amerikahaus (1945–1997) are at the centre of Michaela Melián’s sound and video installation “Music from a Frontier Town”. Visitors are invited to personally select this find from the basement—a selection of jazz, spoken word, classical and new music LPs from the 1950s and 1960s, with which the USA presented itself as a pluralistic cultural nation—and to play it on a DJ console. The Munich artist, musician and radio playwright Michaela Melián, who has received many awards, is known for her often expansive multimedia exhibitions and concerts.

In collaboration with the Department of North American History of the Historical Institute of the University of Cologne.

Admission is free.

Friday, December 13, 2019, 6 – 10 pm
(Admission possible at any time)
REUNION AFTER CAGE
For modified chessboard and live-electronics (German premiere)

Chess players: Holger Lieff, Endre Tot, N.N.
Musicians: Peter Behrendsen, hans w. koch, Tobias Grewenig, Dirk Specht

Highlight at the end of the reiheM–Anniversary year 2019—With 4 hours of “Reunion after Cage”. This 114th event completes the circle of the very first reiheM event in January 2009: “Variations on Variations after John Cage” (also by and with Peter Behrendsen and hans w. koch).

John Cage’s REUNION for prepared chessboard and live electronics was first performed in Toronto in 1968: with Marcel Duchamp, John Cage and Teeny Duchamp as chess players as well as the musicians David Behrman, Lowell Cross, Gordon Mumma and David Tudor. The distribution of sounds in space and their volume are determined by the positions of the chess pieces, not by the musical and taste preferences of the musicians. Even the chess players are not able to influence the music by certain moves or positions.
In the sense of Cage’s idea of an egoless, non-intentional music, winning or losing becomes secondary—”a purposeful purposelessness or a purposeless play”.
The chessboard used in this performance follows the original Lowell Cross constructed in assigning the fields to the inputs and outputs, but was equipped with modern technology (computer programming and MIDI).
The chess game is flanked by thematically relevant projections of works by the artists Takako Saito and Shigeko Kubota.

A project by Peter Behrendsen and hans w. koch.

Admission fee: 10,- / 8,-

Further information: www.reihe-M.de

Reihe M – Concert Series for Contemporary Music, Electronics and New Media – Cologne is organized by Mark e.V. and supported by the Cultural Office of the City of Cologne and the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Filmscreenings during Solito by Julien Ceccaldi

KKV-web-Solito-1240x1748px

Filmscreenings during the exhibition Solito by Julien Ceccaldi
September 8 – November 11, 2018

Thu 9720, 6 pm
Kunihiko Ikuhara, La Fillette Revolutionnaire Utena, 1999 (in the original with German subtitles)

Tue 9/25, 6 pm
Catherine Breillat, Barbe Bleue, 2009 (in the original with Engl. subtitles)

Thu 10/11, 6 pm
Catherine Breillat, La Belle Endormie, 2011 (in the original with Engl. subtitles)

Thu 10/18, 6 pm
Mori Masaki, The Door into Summer, 1975 (in the original with Engl. subtitles)

Thu 10/25, 6 pm
Catherine Breillat, 36 Fillette, 1988 (in the original with Engl. subtitles)

Wed 11/7, 6 pm
Chantal Akerman, Golden Eighties, 1986 (35mm, in the original with German subtitles)
with an introduction by Juliane Duft

Public program
Jay Chung & Q Takeki Maeda. The Auratic Narrative

The Auratic Narrative

Public program:

April 11, 2019, 9 pm
Moulting (2019), slideshow with Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda

May 14, 2019, 11 am – 6 pm
Moulting (2019), slideshow by Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda

May 28, 2019, 7 pm
Show and Tell # 1
Scalalogia and The Wheel of Life (2019), Book Launch with Jasmin Werner and a lecture by Philipp Kleinmichel in conjunction with a concert by pogendroblem

Show and Tell is an ongoing, autonomous series of events with shifting formats. Various guests are invited to participate, among these artists, writers, and musicians.

June 6, 2019, 7 pm
Letters (2019) and Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda x Teruo Nishiyama (2017), Double Book Launch with Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda

June 19, 2019, from 5 pm
Double Screening
films selected by Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda

5 pm Westend (D 2001) by Markus Mischkowski and Kai-Maria Steinkühler
89 min, 35 mm, b/w, German with English subtitles

6.30 pm L for Leisure (USA 2014) by Lev Kalman and Whitney Horn
73 min, color, English

Public guided tours on Thursdays

April 25, 2019, 5 pm with Miriam Bettin
May 23, 2019, 5 pm with Lukas Flygare (in English)
June 6, 2019, 5 pm with Nikola Dietrich

Public guided tours on Sundays

May 19, 2019, 3 pm with Jasmin Werner
June 23, 2019, 3 pm with Jasmin Werner

Show and Tell #9
Filmvorführungen: Tony Conrad, The Flicker, 1966
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1963
Einführung von Marc Siegel: Flickering, Flaming
6. März 2020

Flaming Creatures_1
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1962-63, Film Still, Copyright Jack Smith Archive, Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York and Brussels

Freitag, 6. März 2020, 18 – 20 Uhr
Show and Tell #9
Filmvorführungen:
Tony Conrad, The Flicker, 1966
16 mm, s/w, 30 min
Jack Smith, Flaming Creatures, 1963
16 mm, 45 min

Flickering, Flaming – eine Einführung von Marc Siegel, Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
(in englischer Sprache)

Mit der Doppelpräsentation von The Flicker und Flaming Creatures zeigt der Kölnische Kunstverein im Rahmen der aktuellen Ausstellung zwei Filme, die beide als Kollaborationen zwischen Tony Conrad und Jack Smith im New York der frühen 1960er Jahre entstanden und für Skandale sorgten. Unter dem Titel Flickering, Flaming wird der Filmwissenschaftler Marc Siegel die unerwartete Produktion des Flickerfilms aus der Erfahrung Tony Conrads Arbeit mit Jack Smith skizzieren.

1962 schloss Conrad sein Studium an der Harvard University ab und zog nach New York City, wo er vor allem mit experimentellen Musiker*innen und Untergrundfilmemacher*innen in Kontakt kam. Er war Mitbewohner des berüchtigten Filmemachers Jack Smith, der Conrad dazu veranlasste, seine musikalischen Experimente auf die Herstellung von Filmtonspuren anzuwenden. Conrads eigene Karriere als Filmemacher begann am 5. März 1963, als er, Smith und Mario Montez (Smiths Muse) vom flackernden Licht eines alten Projektors begeistert waren. Conrad hatte an der Hochschule die Auswirkungen dieses Phänomens auf die Gehirnwellen kennengelernt und so unternahm er den Versuch, einen bewusstseinsverändernden Film aus nichts weiter als schwarzen und weißen Einzelbildern zu drehen, der auf „Harmonien“ zwischen den Frequenzen des flackernden Lichts basiert – eine Vorgehensweise ähnlich seiner Arbeit mit Tonfrequenzen. Von Kritiker*innen für seine strukturellen Qualitäten gelobt, reichten die Reaktionen des Publikums bei der Premiere von The Flicker am 15. September 1966 im Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts von Übelkeit bis hin zu Halluzinationen.

Für Jack Smiths legendären Film Flaming Creatures produzierte Tony Conrad den Soundtrack. Smiths Filme sind von einer ungewöhnlichen Low-Budget-Schönheit und ästhetischen Innovationen geprägt, die sofort das Lob der Kritiker*innen auf sich zogen. Doch der offene Umgang mit Sexualität führte zu Zensur: 1964 löste der Film einen der größten Skandale der Filmgeschichte aus und wurde verboten. Bald danach begann Smith das Medium Film nicht mehr als eigenständiges Werk, sondern als Bestandteil von Performances einzusetzen. Flaming Creatures, sein wohl bekanntester Film, feiert eine tumultartige Harem-Party aus grenzenlosen erotischen Ausschweifungen in glamourösen schwarz-weiß-Bildern.

Marc Siegel ist Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Sein Buch A Gossip of Images wird demnächst bei Duke University Press erscheinen. Im Jahr 2014 gab er eine Sonderausgabe der Zeitschrift Criticism heraus, die Jack Smith gewidmet ist. Er ist Gründungsmitglied des in Berlin ansässigen Kunstkollektivs CHEAP. Im Jahr 2009 ko-kuratierte er ein umfassendes Festival am Arsenal-Institut für Videokunst und am HAU in Berlin mit dem Titel LIVE FILM! JACK SMITH! Five Flaming Days in a Rented World, das 2012 in Frankfurt am Main im Mousonturm und im MMK Museum für Moderne Kunst einen Spin-Off hatte. In diesem Kontext arbeitete er mit Tony Conrad zusammen.

»

Show and Tell #8
Arjan Stockhausen: Ja (Null Piece), 2020
18. Februar 2020

invite_kkv

Dienstag, 18. Februar 2020, 18 – 22 Uhr
Arjan Stockhausen, Ja (Null Piece), 2020
4- Kanal Audiodatei, 240 min

NEIN! Dieses Stück ist kein Stück, um diese Stück zu hören, höre es nicht. Lege dich nicht auf den Boden, um zuzuhören. Lege dich nicht auf den Boden, um nicht zuzuhören. Höre die Stille während des Klangs, höre nicht auf den Klang, während der Stille. Denke an kein Objekt, während du zuhörst, der Klang ist das Objekt. Um dich auf das Stück zu legen, werde das Stück, at least. JA!

Die Veranstaltung findet anlässlich der Ausstellung TONY CONRAD im Kölnischen Kunstverein statt.

Die Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von Show and Tell werden gefördert von:

Rheinenergie

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Logozeile_Standard

zu Gast:
reiheM – Konzertreihe für Gegenwartsmusik, Elektronik und neue Medien
6., 7. und 13. Dezember 2019

rM_Michaela-Melian-MfaFT©Michael-Pfitzner-Paul-Valentin_2

zu Gast im Kölnischen Kunstverein:
reiheM – Konzertreihe für Gegenwartsmusik, Elektronik und neue Medien

Freitag, 6. Dezember 2019, 19 – 23 Uhr und Samstag, 7. Dezember 2019, 11 – 19 Uhr
MICHAELA MELIÁN
Music from a Frontier Town
Sound- und Videoinstallation

Freitag, 6. Dezember, 19.30 – 20 Uhr
Michaela Melián im Gespräch mit Prof. Anke Ortlepp

Re-Education. 1.630 Vinylschallplatten aus dem Restbestand der öffentlichen Bibliothek des Münchner Amerikahauses (1945-1997) stehen im Zentrum der Sound- und Videoinstallation „Music from a Frontier Town“ von Michaela Melián. Besucherinnen und Besucher sind eingeladen, diesen Kellerfund – eine Auswahl von Jazz-, Spoken Word-, Klassik- und Neue Musik- LPs der 1950er und 1960er Jahre, mit der die USA sich als pluralistische Kulturnation präsentierte – eigenhändig auszuwählen und über ein DJ-Pult abzuspielen. Die vielfach ausgezeichnete Münchner Künstlerin, Musikerin und Hörspielautorin Michaela Melián ist für ihre oft raumgreifenden multimedialen Ausstellungen und Konzerte bekannt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung für Nordamerikanische Geschichte des Historischen Instituts der Universität zu Köln.

Der Eintritt ist frei.

Freitag, 13. Dezember 2019, 18 – 22 Uhr
(Einlass jederzeit möglich)
REUNION AFTER CAGE
Für modifiziertes Schachbrett und Live-Elektronik (Deutsche Erstaufführung)

Schachspieler: Holger Lieff, Endre Tot, N.N.
Musiker: Peter Behrendsen, hans w. koch, Tobias Grewenig, Dirk Specht

Highlight zum Ende des reiheM - Jubiläumsjahres 2019 – Mit 4 Stunden “Reunion after Cage”. Mit dieser 114. Veranstaltung schließt sich der Kreis zur allerersten reiheM –Veranstaltung im Januar 2009: “Variations on Variations nach John Cage” (ebenfalls von und mit Peter Behrendsen und hans w koch).

John Cages REUNION für präpariertes Schachbrett und Live-Elektronik wurde erstmals 1968 in Toronto aufgeführt: mit Marcel Duchamp, John Cage und Teeny Duchamp als Schachspieler sowie den Musikern David Behrman, Lowell Cross, Gordon Mumma und David Tudor. Die Verteilung der Klänge im Raum und ihre Lautstärke werden von den Positionen der Schachfiguren bestimmt, nicht durch musikalische und geschmackliche Vorlieben der Musiker. Auch die Schachspieler*innen sind nicht in der Lage, durch bestimmte Züge oder Positionen die Musik zu beeinflussen.
Im Sinne von Cages Idee einer egolosen, nicht-intentionalen Musik werden Gewinnen oder Verlieren nebensächlich – “a purposeful purposelessness or a purposeless play”.
Das bei dieser Aufführung verwendete Schachbrett folgt dem von Lowell Cross konstruierten Original in der Zuordnung der Felder auf die Ein- und Ausgänge, wurde aber mit heutiger Technologie (Computerprogrammierung und MIDI) ausgestattet.
Das Schachspiel wird flankiert durch thematisch relevante Projektionen von Arbeiten der Künstlerinnen Takako Saito und Shigeko Kubota.

Ein Projekt von Peter Behrendsen und hans w. koch.

Eintritt: 10,- / 8,-

Weitere Infos: www.reihe-M.de

reiheM – Konzertreihe für Gegenwartsmusik, Elektronik und neue Medien – Köln wird veranstaltet von Mark e.V. und gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Stadt Köln und das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Filmscreenings während Solito von Julien Ceccaldi

KKV-web-Solito-1240x1748px

Filmscreenings während der Ausstellung Solito von Julien Ceccaldi
8. September – 11. November 2018

Do 20.9., 18 Uhr
Kunihiko Ikuhara, La Fillette Revolutionnaire Utena, 1999 (OmU, dt. UT)

Di 25.9., 18 Uhr
Catherine Breillat, Barbe Bleue, 2009 (OmU, engl. UT)

Do 11.10., 18 Uhr
Catherine Breillat, La Belle Endormie, 2011 (OmU, engl. UT)

Do 18.10., 18 Uhr
Mori Masaki, The Door into Summer, 1975 (OmU, engl. UT)

Do 25.10., 18 Uhr
Catherine Breillat, 36 Fillette, 1988 (OmU, engl. UT)

Mi 7.11., 18 Uhr
Chantal Akerman, Golden Eighties, 1986 (35mm-Film, OmU, dt. UT)
mit einer Einführung von Juliane Duft

Veranstaltungsprogramm
Jay Chung & Q Takeki Maeda. The Auratic Narrative

The Auratic Narrative

Veranstaltungsprogramm:

11. April 2019, 21 Uhr
Moulting (2019), Diashow mit Jay Chung und Q Takeki Maeda

14. Mai 2019, 11 – 18 Uhr
Moulting (2019), Diashow von Jay Chung und Q Takeki Maeda

28. Mai 2019, 19 Uhr
Show and Tell # 1
Scalalogia and The Wheel of Life (2019), Book Launch mit Jasmin Werner und einem Vortrag von Philipp Kleinmichel zusammen mit einem Konzert von pogendroblem

Show and Tell ist eine fortlaufende, vom Ausstellungsprogramm unabhängige Veranstaltungsreihe mit verschiedenen Formaten. Eingeladen werden wechselnde Gäste, darunter Künstler*innen, Autor*innen und Musiker*innen.

6. Juni, 2019, 19 Uhr
Letters (2019) und Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda x Teruo Nishiyama (2017), Double Book Launch mit Jay Chung und Q Takeki Maeda

19. Juni 2019, ab 17 Uhr
Double Screening
ausgewählt von Jay Chung und Q Takeki Maeda

17 Uhr Westend (D 2001) von Markus Mischkowski und Kai-Maria Steinkühler
89 min, 35 mm, s/w, Deutsch mit englischen UT

18.30 Uhr L for Leisure (USA 2014) von Lev Kalman und Whitney Horn
73 min, Farbe, Englisch

Führungen am Donnerstag durch die Ausstellung

25. April 2019, 17 Uhr mit Miriam Bettin
23. Mai 2019, 17 Uhr mit Lukas Flygare (in englischer Sprache)
6. Juni 2019, 17 Uhr mit Nikola Dietrich

Führungen am Sonntag durch die Ausstellung

19. Mai 2019, 15 Uhr mit Jasmin Werner
23. Juni 2019, 15 Uhr mit Jasmin Werner