Member’s edition

Candida Höfer_Two Doors_2019_Vereinsgabe des Kölnischen Kunstvereins_2019_(c) Candida Höfer und VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn_web

Candida Höfer Two Doors 2019
Vereinsgabe des Kölnischen Kunstvereins 2019
Offsetprint on Profi Silk 300 g/m²
48,5 x 48 cm

(c) Candida Höfer/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Due to the circumstances evolving around the COVID-19 virus Kölnischer Kunstverein is closed until further notice.

All planned events, workshops and guided tours are canceled. We will inform you about possible changes and catch-up dates in time.

We have extended the pick-up period to December 2020 for members, who have not yet been able to collect their Vereinsgabe 2019.

Members can pick up the Vereinsgabe only during the exhibitions at the regular opening hours from Tuesday to Sunday from 11am to 6pm. The current exhibition Tony Conrad is currently closed. We will inform you about a possible reopening.

Please understand that we do not send the Vereinsgabe. If it is not possible to pick up the Vereinsgabe personally, it can be picked up by someone else on presentation of a written authorization. We would kindly like to ask you, to pay the amount of 15,- € preferably suitably.

We are delighted to have won the Cologne-based artist Candida Höfer for the Vereinsgabe 2019. The internationally renowned photographer studied with Bernd Becher in Düsseldorf. Since the early 1980s, her works have been presented in numerous exhibitions, including the North Carolina Museum of Art, the K21 Kunstsammlung Nordrhein Westfalen in Düsseldorf, the Villa Massimo in Rome, and the Museo Amparo in Puebla, Mexico. Her work is represented in major collections and was recently honored with the Sony World Photography Award.

With her photographs of semi-public and public spaces of libraries, museums, universities, banks, etc., she has created a body of work that considers the specific location in terms of history, structure, functionality and the question of its task or use.

The artist has produced a new photographic work for the Kölnischer Kunstverein entitled Two Doors, 2019 (48 x 48.5 cm). The picture was taken in the province of Fujian in Southeast China in one of the round houses (Tulou) of the Hakka. The Hakka are an ethnic group of the Han Chinese, who migrated over centuries from the North to the South of China and also abroad to escape wars, unrest, and poverty. The door on the left is the entrance door to a senior citizens’ association. At the top of the sign the name is given: “Zhaojiacheng Village-Senior Residency”; the diagonally hanging rectangle below means “blessing”—it hangs diagonally because the blessing of heaven is summoned. On the large signs to the left and right of the entrance door are historical events of the Southern (1127-1279) and Northern Song Dynasties (960-1127)—a heyday of Chinese culture after which one of the Hakka’s great migratory movements took place; the signs on the door form a couplet telling of migration.

“It is one of the images I take with my handheld camera, which I usually carry with me. This camera is a welcome change from the effort required by the large camera that I use to record interiors.” (C.H.)

Kölnischer Kunstverein is now in its seventh year after the introduction of the Vereinsgabe: an original work of art by internationally renowned artists, which can only be obtained through a membership in our association. With their contributions, artists such as Rosemarie Trockel, Lawrence Weiner, Kai Althoff, Isa Genzken, Luc Tuymans, Wolfgang Tillmans and now Candida Höfer have — each in their own way — contributed to the recognition of the civic commitment of the members: A model that must be continued.

The work is exclusively reserved for members of the Kölnischer Kunstverein.

Please note: From this year on, we have to restructure the production costs, so that an amount of 15 EUR will be due when picking up the Vereinsgabe from the Kunstverein. We will hand out the works during your visit at the Kölnischer Kunstverein. Please pay the amount in cash. We cannot offer shipping of the Vereinsgabe.

Previous Vereinsgaben

Vereinsgabe 2018: Wolfgang Tillmans

Vereinsgabe 2017: Luc Tuymans

Vereinsgabe 2016: Isa Genzken

Vereinsgabe 2015: Kai Althoff

Vereinsgabe 2014: Lawrence Weiner

Vereinsgabe 2013: Rosemarie Trockel