Tony Conrad: Again and Again
Online lecture by Tabea Lurk

DSC06070

Friday, May 29, 2020, 7 pm
Show and Tell #10
Tony Conrad: Again and Again
Online lecture by Tabea Lurk, Art historian, Basel (in German language)
with a welcome by Nikola Dietrich, Director Kölnischer Kunstverein

Inspired by the parcours of the TONY CONRAD exhibition at the Kölnischer Kunstverein, the lecture will show monographic connections. References inherent in the exhibited works are explained. In addition, the US-American artist, who died in 2016, will once again have his say on the basis of his video works, statements and interviews.

Tony Conrad’s relatively late fame as a gallery or museum artist, which shaped his last years, does not seem to be waning even four years after his death. New ways of reading can still be found, the vitality of the late works still has a convincing effect, and the films of the late 1960s, the videographic works of the 1970s and 1980s, and the musical settings that permeate all phases of life still evoke an era that is partly past, partly continued by others. The artist’s video work forms the starting point for these reflections.

Tabea Lurk studied art history and media theory and wrote her doctorate on Tony Cornad’s video work. After her traineeship at the Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (2004-2006), she worked at the Hochschule der Künste Bern from 2006-2015. Since August 2015 she has been head of the media library at the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel.

The exhibition TONY CONRAD is extended until July 12, 2020.

Image: Tony Conrad, Berlin 2011, CC-BY: Tabea Lurk


The program is part of the exhibition TONY CONRAD.

The events in the framework of Show and Tell are sponsored by:

Rheinenergie

With the kind support of:

Logozeile_Standard

Tony Conrad: Again and Again
Online-Vortrag von Tabea Lurk
am Freitag, 29. Mai 2020

DSC06070

Freitag, 29. Mai 2020, 19 Uhr
Show and Tell #10
Tony Conrad: Again and Again
Online-Vortrag von Tabea Lurk, Kunstwissenschaftlerin, Basel (in deutscher Sprache)
mit einem Grußwort von Nikola Dietrich, Direktorin Kölnischer Kunstverein

Inspiriert vom Parcours der Ausstellung TONY CONRAD im Kölnischen Kunstverein zeigt der Vortrag werkmonografische Zusammenhänge auf. Erläutert werden Bezüge, die den ausgestellten Arbeiten inhärent sind. Zudem soll der 2016 verstorbene, US-amerikanische Künstler auf der Basis seiner Videoarbeiten, Statements und Interviews erneut zu Wort kommen.

Der relativ spät einsetzende Ruhm von Tony Conrad als Galerie- oder musealem Künstler, der seine letzten Jahre prägte, scheint auch vier Jahre nach seinem Tod nicht abzuebben. Noch immer finden sich neue Lesweisen, noch immer wirkt die Vitalität der späten Arbeiten überzeugend und noch immer lassen die Filme der späten 1960er, die videografischen Arbeiten der 1970er und 1980er und die musikalischen Setzungen, die alle Lebensphasen durchziehen, eine teils vergangene, teils von anderen weitergeführte Ära erinnern. Den Ausgangspunkt der Überlegungen bildet das Videoschaffen des Künstlers.

Der Vortrag ist über folgenden Link erreichbar.

Tabea Lurk hat Kunstwissenschaft und Medientheorie studiert und über Tony Cornads Videoschaffen promoviert. Nach ihrem Volontariat am Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (2004-2006) war sie von 2006-2015 an der Hochschule der Künste Bern tätig und leitet seit August 2015 die Mediathek der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel.

Die Ausstellung TONY CONRAD ist verlängert bis zum 12. Juli 2020.

Abb. Tony Conrad, Berlin 2011, CC-BY: Tabea Lurk


Die Veranstaltung findet anlässlich der Ausstellung TONY CONRAD statt.

Die Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von Show and Tell werden gefördert von:

Rheinenergie

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Logozeile_Standard