Andro Wekua – Anruf


Andro Wekua
Opening: Thursday, 14.4.2016, 7 pm
15.4.-19.6.2016

Andro Wekua was born in Georgia in 1977. Over a period of more than ten years he has created an outstanding body of work that can be counted among the most impressive, but simultaneously also the most mysterious, contributions to recent contemporary art. Based on his own biography, which was shaped by events surrounding the civil war in his native country, Wekua’s work rotates around the question of how a personal or collective memory is formed, what the genuine substance of an individual or global memory is and what belongs to fiction, imagination and interpretation within this context. At the same time, the visual creations realised by the artist, who now lives in Germany and Switzerland, typically display a disturbing and uncanny quality and point to subconscious processes. Regardless of the given medium, Wekua’s works appeal directly to the emotional world of their viewers, although they often resist unambiguous interpretation – an aspect which actually helps fuel their unsettling effect.

The exhibition at the Kölnischer Kunstverein is not only the artist’s first major show in the Rhineland area but also the first significantly comprehensive presentation in Germany in the last five years. The exhibited works demonstrate the cogency of his body of work in a representative manner. Thus, in the main exhibition hall, the artist presents a complex and expansive installation that transports viewers into a dream-like world. Its central focus is formed by an untitled life-sized figure (2014), which hangs from the ceiling in a prominent location and seems to be half androgynous human and half robot. This being is balanced on its chin atop a swing-like apparatus and is thus depicted in a physically impossible position, which further intensifies its already very striking strangeness and unworldliness.

Where this sculptural work by Andro Wekua evokes aspects of the surreal and fantastic, the untitled painting of a seascape (2016), which is placed at a significant distance opposite the figure in the exhibition hall, points to a different tradition. In this work we can recognise allusions to 19th-century British and French landscape paintings as well as their expressively conceived early 20th-century pendants. At the same time, Wekua has condensed his work into a composition in colour that renders the sea’s various temperaments tangible on a psychological level.

Within the exhibition space the painting and the sculpture join into a single unit, whose frame is formed by the architecture which was designed specifically for them and features various segmentations and an intense tonality. The effect linked to this theatrically staged presentation could scarcely be more penetrating: as a result it directly influences those who experience it and permanently etches itself in their consciousness.

The conglomerate of this installation is supplemented by the presentation of Andro Wekua’s filmic works, which were created between 2003 and 2012 and are presented in the cinema of the Kölnischer Kunstverein. These works are partly based on found material and partly on sequences produced by the artist himself, and they oscillate between the genres of historical documentary, horror and science fiction. The films present images between memory, dream and vision and convey an atmosphere that is no less adept at getting under viewers’ skin.

Andro Wekua’s solo exhibitions include those at the Kunsthalle Wien (2011), Fridericianum in Kassel (2011), Castello di Rivoli in Turin (2011), Camden Arts Centre in London (2008), Boijmans van Beuningen in Rotterdam (2007) and Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2006). In 2011 he was also nominated for the Preis der Nationalgalerie.

The exhibition is kindly supported by:

and Julia Stoschek Collection

Andro Wekua – Anruf


Andro Wekua – Anruf
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 14.4.2016, 19 Uhr
15.4.-19.6.2016

Andro Wekua, geboren 1977 in Georgien, hat in einem Zeitraum von mehr als zehn Jahren ein herausragendes Werk geschaffen, das zu den eindrucksvollsten, zugleich aber auch geheimnisvollsten Beiträgen zur jüngeren Gegenwartskunst gezählt werden kann. Ausgehend von seiner eigenen Biografie, die durch die Erfahrung des Bürgerkrieges in seinem Heimatland geprägt wurde, umkreist das Schaffen Wekuas die Frage, wie sich das persönliche bzw. kollektive Gedächtnis konstituiert, was der wahre Gehalt einer individuellen bzw. globalen Erinnerung ist und was in diesem Zusammenhang der Fiktion, der Imagination und Interpretation angehört. Die Bildkreationen, die der heute in Deutschland sowie in der Schweiz lebende Künstler realisiert, weisen dabei zumeist etwas Beängstigendes und Unheimliches auf und verweisen auf Prozesse des Unterbewussten. Unabhängig vom jeweiligen Medium, appellieren die Werke Wekuas unmittelbar an die Gefühlswelt des Betrachters, auch wenn sich diese nicht selten einer eindeutigen Lesbarkeit verweigern, was ihre unbehagliche Wirkung mit beflügelt.

Die Ausstellung im Kölnischen Kunstverein ist nicht nur die erste große Schau des Künstlers im Rheinland, sondern ebenfalls die erste umfassendere Präsentation in Deutschland seit fünf Jahren. Die Werke in der Ausstellung führen die Stringenz innerhalb Wekuas Schaffens in repräsentativer Weise vor Augen. So präsentiert der Künstler in der großen Ausstellungshalle eine komplexe, raumgreifende Installation, die den Betrachter in eine traumartige Welt überführt. Im Zentrum steht dabei eine unbetitelte, lebensgroße Figur (2014), die an exponierter Stelle von der Decke hängt und halb androgyner Mensch, halb Roboter zu sein scheint. Mit dem Kinn balanciert das Wesen auf einer schaukelartigen Vorrichtung und ist damit in einer physisch unmöglichen Haltung wiedergegeben, die die ohnehin schon deutlich ausgeprägte Fremdartigkeit und Entrücktheit der Gestalt noch verstärkt.

Lässt diese skulpturale Arbeit von Andro Wekua Momente des Surrealen und des Fantastischen anklingen, verweist das unbetitelte Seestück (2016), das der Figur in der Ausstellungshalle in merklichem Abstand gegenübergestellt ist, auf eine andere Tradition. So können in dem Gemälde Anspielungen auf die britischen und französischen Landschaftsmalereien des 19. Jahrhunderts, wie auch auf die auf Ausdruck bedachten Pendants des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts nachvollzogen werden, wobei Wekua sein Werk zu einer koloristischen Komposition verdichtet, die die verschiedenen Temperamente des Meeres auf einer psychischen Ebene spürbar macht.
In dem Ausstellungsraum verbinden sich das Bild und die Skulptur zu einer Einheit, für die die eigens entworfene Architektur mit ihren verschiedenen Untergliederungen sowie ihrer intensiven Farbigkeit den Rahmen bildet. Die Wirkung, die sich mit dieser theatralischen Inszenierung verbindet, könnte eindringlicher kaum sein, sodass sie den Rezipienten unmittelbar beeinflusst und sich nachhaltig in dessen Bewusstsein einschreibt.

Ergänzt wird dieses installative Konglomerat durch die Präsentation der filmischen Arbeiten von Andro Wekua, die zwischen 2003 und 2012 entstanden und im Kino des Kölnischen Kunstvereins aufgeführt werden. Diese Werke, die teils auf vorgefundenem Material, teils auf eigens produzierten Sequenzen basieren, pendeln zwischen historischem Dokumentar-, Horror- sowie Science-Fiction-Film und zeigen Bilder zwischen Erinnerung, Traum und Vision, die eine nicht minder unter die Haut gehende Atmosphäre vermitteln.

Andro Wekua hatte u. a. Einzelausstellungen in der Kunsthalle Wien (2011), im Fridericianum in Kassel (2011), im Castello di Rivoli in Turin (2011), im Camden Art Center in London (2008), im Boijmans van Beuningen in Rotterdam (2007) sowie im Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2006). 2011 war er zudem für den Preis der Nationalgalerie nominiert.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch:

und mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Julia Stoschek Collection